I am a badass infertile ninja warrior

This morning I injected myself with 112.5IU of Gonal F. It was a piece of cake. I went back to bed and slept for another 2.5 hours and then got up and went swimming LIKE A NORMAL PERSON. This is a piece of cake. I can totally do this. And if this cycle is unsuccessful I know that I will do another cycle armed with the lessons learned in this cycle whatever they may be. If I keep saying that it is a piece of came maybe someone will bring me some cake. I am craving cake. I promised my husband I would cut out the junk food while cycling. Today is day one of my junk food ban and I always find the first day the hardest.

The biggest lesson that Infertility has taught me in the nearly 3 years of struggling with it is that the anticipation of everything is worse than the reality. I was shaking like a leaf this morning but as soon as the needle was in my numb, iced skin I knew that I could totally do this. And I have all of this long weekend to get used to it before I need to throw getting ready for work into the mix.

4 Comments

Filed under IVF Cycle #1

4 responses to “I am a badass infertile ninja warrior

  1. Way to go. I like your attitude.

    I have also been surprised at how the anticipation has been worse than the reality, at least so far.

    • I know, right?! I’m working on not anticipating my scan right now. Why worry when if it’s bad news I’ll find out soon enough. For now I’m going to work on hoping it’s good news & trying not to think about it too much.

  2. I was terrified about my first injections! And on my first few days I didn’t ice, so it wasn’t easy at all, it HURT. As long as you ice, you’re golden.

    I’m trying to have that same attitude. If this cycle doesn’t work, we will try again, and again, until it does.

    Sending you a virtual piece of cake! 😉

    • Thanks so much! I’ve just eaten brown pasta & tomato sauce with lots of cheese on top for lunch, that piece of cake would really take the healthy taste away just nicely! Thanks for the tip, I’m just sorry that you had to learn it the hard way! X

Leave a Reply

