Another date with dildocam

Hey ladies,

I’m on the train to my latest scan on day 7 of stims. I had my first scan on day 5. There were 7 follicles: 5 on the right, with the largest measuring 14mm and then 2 small ones on the left. I didn’t get the measurements on any of the others. I was originally told that I was going in for a scan and bloodtest but then when I got there the doc said that they don’t normally do blood tests, which I thought was weird but I went with it. She said that she wanted to see me again in 2 days time and that she expected a lot to happen in 2 days.

They kept my gonal F injection at the same low dosage of 112.5iu & told me to start cetrotide injections, which are nowhere near as fun as Gonal F, although today is my third day on cetrotide and I think I have finally mastered it!

What I hadn’t anticipated was the rush of emotions that I would feel at the scan. As soon as she said we had follicles I was on the verge of happy tears. She showed me the right ovary first and when there were 5 there I nearly burst with happiness. I have been really concerned about OHSS so I was so pleased that I didn’t have too many. I was also worried about not responding as I was on such a low dose of Gonal F but 5 follicles on one ovary felt like a really positive number. Then she switched to the left side and showed me the 2 small follicles and I was immediately disappointed. Obviously 7 is a great number and once I left the room I felt really happy but in there it was such a rollercoaster of emotions that I had not prepared myself for.

This morning I am much more prepared for it and I am excited to see how much growth there has been, if a little nervous! I am hoping that they will start to estimate egg retrieval dates today as the not knowing is killing me!

I’ve got my first acupuncture appt since I started this cycle and I can’t wait to see her, I’ve been seeing her regularly for 16months now and she is so kind and lovely. I know that no matter what they say at the scan, she will make me happy, relaxed and positive by the time I leave the room.

I’ll report back after my scan. Wish me luck! X

2 Comments

Filed under IVF Cycle #1

2 responses to “Another date with dildocam

  1. It sounds like you’re well on your way. Yay for those five on one side!

  2. Best of luck dear! Can’t wait to hear the results. I had 5 on my right too, and 3 on the left. What’s up with our leftys? Seven is still a great number! Did she say she thought they’d see more follicles today? Maybe a couple were hiding the other day and will be more prominent today. Either way, you’ll be fine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

