Red blood and a BFN – 6dp5dt

Hello you lovely lot,

Today I see red. Red blood. Not enough to be AF yet, that will be the next couple of days.

Wow. What do you do when the ‘last resort’ fails to work first time? How do you scrape yourself up off the floor & keep going? Well, to be honest , right now I feel OK.

Things to take away from this first cycle:

I had NO side effects from the drugs. NONE.

The injections were a piece of cake. Even the cetrotide that I had to mix myself was easy peasy.

My low dosage produced the expected amount of eggs for mild IVF (2-8). This surely means that when we do it again, my dosage would remain the same. So hopefully no side effects next time either.

We learned that I have endometriosis. Before cycling again I should be able to have this removed by laparostic surgery. Whilst that is not something that I look forward to, it will be nice to be able to harvest eggs from both sides in the future!

Of the 3 mature eggs that they ICSI’d, ALL 3 FERTILISED. This is an incredible statistic. One that made me more happy than anything else.

Sedation for egg retrieval is amazing and next time we know to catch everything that I say on film for the next hour or so afterwards because my subconscious ramblings are HILARIOUS.

Our embryos were excellent quality.

By day 5, our embryos were 12 hours behind expectations. This is probably a useful piece of information. I look forward to discussing it with a doctor at a WTF meeting. I will try to refrain from googling!

I am 27. In 3 months I will turn 28. I probably won’t cycle again this year. I’d like to spend the rest of the year exercising, getting my head around this first failure & sorting out my endo and then start the new year in a better head space than this year.

12 Comments

Filed under IVF #1 - the aftermath, IVF Cycle #1

12 responses to “Red blood and a BFN – 6dp5dt

  1. DAMN it. I’m sorry to see this. I was hoping for you.
    I am glad to hear that you’ll be giving it another try.
    I will keep cheering for you.

    • Thank you friend. Today I have mostly been crying, eating pasta, crying, eating ice cream, crying some more, blaming my job/boss & contemplating quitting my job ahead of round 2. Husband is anti this plan which makes me want to kick him square in the face. I know that he’s being sensible but still maybe a little foot-in-the-face would shut him the fuck up with his sensibleness for tonight!

  2. Theresa

    I haven’t had any side effects either. Did they not have you on progesterone? I always thought that kept you from bleeding.
    Most of all, I’m so sorry it didn’t work. I tested today and it too was negative. It’s so disheartening. Hugs.

    • Yep – still on the progesterone until Wednesday! I came on on CD24, just like any other month. Maybe next time they’ll up my dose of progesterone or something. Who knows? I’m sorry that you got a BFN, but there is still time, you’re not out yet. I’ll be checking in to see how you get on & I’ve got my fingers crossed for you. X

  3. I am really surprised you are breaking thru the progesterone..I had to wait 2-3 days after taking it last for AF to come…I would also ask if they can do immune testing to rule that out for your next cycle

    • Yeah me too! As the treatment is free on the NHS you get very little say in what testing they do as they have a strict set of rules to stick to and it may well be that I have to fail twice before they’ll do any further testing. I’m hoping to find out slightly more in the next couple of weeks, but I’m not going to hold my breath. I wish I could see into the future!! X

  4. At your age, it’s not egg quality. Endometriosis is actually a symptom of an immune condition which can cause serious implantation problems. Laparoscopic surgery won’t really remove the endo, only the visible chunks (and the too-tiny-to-see ones still make the toxins that poison the endometrial fluid, and the underlying immune condition is still there hassling your embryos when they try to implant.) Do some more research on immunological infertility and get all your testing done (they do it in England too– perhaps you have to pay for it, but isn’t that better than the frustration of a failed cycle?) Come to my blog, up on the top, read the Immune FAQ… good luck!

    • Hi Georgette, Welcome! I have had a quick look but I certainly need to do some more research. In England you can only get free treatment if you haven paid for treatment ever. I would need clarification as to whether that counted as treatment or not before I went ahead with any private testing. I am going to take a week or so off completely, get my head straight & then get back on it. X

  5. Melanie

    Hi immotile, so sorry to hear about your bfn. I had lap surgery for endo when I was about your age and it wasn’t too bad. Being able to get eggs from both sides would be a plus.
    I have a friend who’s DH has severe male factor and was suspected to have endo after their first cycle. That cycle resulted in a bfn, but she has since had 2 successful cycles. Her little girl just turned 2 and she’s due in Dec with a little boy.
    I wish you the same success for your next cycle – whenever you decide the Tim is right.

    • Hi Melanie, thanks for stopping by. While I don’t exactly relish the thought of a laparoscopy, I am beyond dreading things now, I’m sure it’ll be fine. Plus, I LOVE Morphine! I am totally lapping (haha!) up any stories like this at the moment. I approached cycle 1 in a totally realistic manner, well aware that it was a sort of trial run that might work but that if it didn’t then a second cycle probably would work. Then it didn’t work and I totally freaked out. Now I am slowly reminding myself that it still could work. Nothing worth having is ever easy! X

Leave a Reply

