Snow: Make-up for the world

England looks gorgeous right now! I commented to D, who is a beer and football kind of guy, how gorgeous it looks and he responded with “snow is like make-up for the world”. I didn’t ridicule him for going all poetic on me, I just smiled. It really is, everything looks clean and pretty.

The infrastructure to deal with snow doesn’t exist here as we so rarely have heavy snowfall like this so close to London, so the country grinds to a halt. I literally could not have picked a better time to be housebound recovering from my laparoscopy as pretty much everybody else is off work too. We Brits often get mocked by people who live in snowier climbs for staying home with an inch of snow on the ground  so I thought I would show you the state of the roads by my house. There are actually a few inches of snow on the ground right now. Only the main roads have been gritted. There are no snow ploughs. In the below photo I am stood at a T juntion in my street. If you look carefully you can see the tyre marks. An excellent reason to stay home snuggled up with your families.

snow, infertility, ivf, icsi, endometriosis

D’s football keeps being called off so he has been around loads more than normal and I get to enjoy being looked after. He made me a breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs yesterday and served it up with a champagne flute of mineral water on the side – cute!

I had been sulking about not being able to go sledging as we last had snow this deep in the late eighties so it could be another 25 years before I get another chance. I can’t really use my stomach muscles at the moment as everything is still a bit tender and I’m too bloated to wear anything other than my PJs so D decided to wrap me up in a pair of his jogging bottoms and a hoodie over the top of my PJs and made this awesome snowman with me. It is the biggest snowman that I have ever made and I LOVE it! Normally, after snowfall in England, a snowman this size would mean that there would be no snow left on the ground, but we still had a couple of inches. I’d like to make a matching snowlady but I think it will start to melt soon.

photo

Other than playing in the snow, I also went to see Quentin Tarantino’s new film, Django, on Saturday night. I loved it. What a lovely weekend. And now I’m off work again all week – yay! This week should be much more fun than last week as I actually don’t feel too bad so I should be able to spend some time enjoying the freedom. I hope that you all had lovely weekends too. One week until my follow up consultation. Must keep busy! x

2 Comments

Filed under IVF #1 - the aftermath

2 responses to “Snow: Make-up for the world

  1. gradualchanges

    Enjoy the snow! That’s a great snowman. I love a fresh snowfall. Here in New York City a blanket of new snow dampens all the noise and hides all the imperfections to make everything seem fresh and new. Unfortunately, it doesn’t last long. Enjoy your downtime and good luck with your follow-up.

Leave a Reply

