Laparascopy follow up: My sticky pelvic mess

Did anybody have the children’s book “Funny Bones” when they were growing up? It’s a classic. I loved it. The children that I may never have will certainly love it. It has a very repetitive rhythm and children can join in and chant along with their parents. Most of the book is devoted to a high level run down of the human skeleton that goes something like this “your knee bone’s connected to your… thigh bone, your thigh bone’s connected to your… hip bone” etc.

infertility, endometriosis, ivf, icsi, cyst, laparoscopy

It turns out that this does not only apply to bones. If you’re extremely (un)lucky this can apply to other body parts too. I met with my consultant this afternoon to have my post laparoscopy follow up appointment. So, my uterus is connected to my… left ovary… my left ovary’s connected to my… bowel. I have severe endometriosis on my left side and it’s all a bloody mess. The right is fine though, so that’s something to be grateful for. He drained the cyst on my left ovary and burned the side of the capsule that he could get to without damaging anything else. This means that the cyst will return all the more quickly. He gave me photos of my right ovary and before and after shots of the left ovary. The left one is still an endo-ridden mess, but it’s better than it was. He recommends starting IVF round 2 asap as he has guaranteed that it will come back quickly.

We discussed the endo diet and he said that any difference that it made would be a drop in the ocean given the severity of the adhesions that are already there. I’m not ready to give up on it yet though so I will persevere until my next cycle at least and see if it’s helping me to lose the weight.

So, now I am at the mercy of the ridiculous NHS appointments system. I have no idea when my next cycle will begin, but I would expect it to be around April time now, judging by last year’s waiting times. I’ll be doing the long protocol this time, which is what most people do. Does anyone know at what point in the cycle down regulating begins? Last time I went straight into stimming on day 2 of my cycle. This time it’s going to be far more involved.

In other news, I went back to work today. It was exhausting. This Laparoscopy really took the wind out of my sails. It is a major operation & I didn’t really realise that until I was unconscious on the toilet in my hospital room! I’m still walking at half speed and I’m still a bit bloated. I’m half expecting someone to ask me if I’m pregnant at some point. Not sure how I’ll react to that, although I expect violence is inevitable…

5 Comments

Filed under IVF #1 - the aftermath

5 responses to “Laparascopy follow up: My sticky pelvic mess

  1. Hey – I’m sorry recovery has been slow, and I’m sorry your endo has wrought so much havoc. BTW – the long protocol – when I did it, they started I think 5 days before the end of birth control? Not 100 percent sure, it’s been enough months now.

  2. Oh no! Sorry lady 😦 But YES, that was my FAVORITE book as a kid! Have a copy waiting for whomever we end up with. My mom used to read it to me in a British accent! 🙂

  3. I am so sorry. Hugs to you. My friend recently got a similar diagnosis, and even though she suspected it, she was pretty upset.

  4. Pingback: IVF 2, Phase 2: Go! | Immotileturtle's Blog

Leave a Reply

